Iran news: Rafsanjani’s daughter released

In case you’re new to my blog, I changed my banner to green to do my (pitiful little) part to support the protesters in Iran. I have been following what’s happening there, I hope hope for the best (an overthrow of the current government, and replacing it with something better).

The following news item makes me feel a bit more hopeful

Iranian media say the daughter of one of Iran’s most powerful figures, former president Hashemi Rafsanjani, and four family members were detained during the protests but later released.

The vast majority of the people in the Middle East are amoral familists.  “My brother and I against my cousin, my cousin and I against everyone else.”  Rafsanjani was out trying to drum up support among the mullahs.  Grabbing his daughter put him in a terrible bind.  the fact that the government had to back down, and let her go, is amazing.

I do not believe they would let her go simply because Rafsanjani agreed to stop working against the government.  No one’s going to trust him that much.

If they really did let her, and the other four, go, it’s IMHO because someone let the “Supreme Leader know that there are some lines he cannot cross.

And that makes it more likely the good guys will win.  Or at least that the worst guys will lose.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

